quote The End Of This (Us) 

“don’t doubt yourself so much

it 

doesn’t suit you” 

but

(don’t you understand) 

that’s hard to do

(it’s a hard thing to do) 

especially since I’ve built up an 

immunity to 

poetry,

homework,

and also the human condition

(or something like that) 
god. 
I will not flinch

I can not leave

(no, really. 

I am incapable of 

moving) 
even if your hands gave 

mine 

splinters 

even if i liked them 

too 

much 

(I do)
How could I explode 

without 

hurting 

you? 
I find all my lovers

 to be 

carbon dioxide

(my body 

takes them in

but 

I’ll

die unless they 

leave) 
hey, it’s okay 

cause when they’re around

 I make 

too 

many 

promises that I 

never keep 
(but you know I’ll miss

the 

company) 
I regret thinking about the 

end 

of this 

(us) 
it’s a hard thing to do 

(it’s just

too easy)
detached,

my soul untangles from yours
 even light weighs something,

(darling)

and our love

weighs 

the most

9 comments

Leave a comment